Home > Resources >
Leadership Certification

The North American Division Women's Ministries is making available to you the General Conference Women's Ministries Certification.

All materials for Levels 1 through 4 are available through AdventSource.  Phone Toll Free at 800-328-0525 or E-mail at service@adventsource.org

Certification, Level 1, is now available, FREE, on our web site. Be sure to download the "Record Brochure for Levels 1-4" to help you understand the requirements that are needed. If possible, it is best to join with other women and take the seminars together.

English Record Brochure for Levels 1-4; Spanish Record Brochure for Levels 1-3.
If you need the certificates for level 1-4, please see your Union or Conference Women's Ministries Director. Go to Links for Certification Levels to learn more. Level 1 is now online. 

Department of Women's Ministries
General Conference of Seventh-day Adventists

Dear Participant:

This Women's Ministries Leadership Certification program has come about because we realize the great need for the women of our church to develop skills that will enable them to serve in positions of leadership.

E. G. White reminds us that "There is a higher purpose for woman, a grander destiny. She should develop and cultivate her powers, for God can employ them in the great work of saving souls from eternal ruin."
Evangelism p. 465

Developing and cultivating the abilities of women is one task of this department, and one to which we are committed.

This certification program is the joint effort of many women who have given of their time and abilities unselfishly. Without them this project would never have been completed and we thank them from our hearts for their input.

The curriculum for this program has been divided into eight subject areas. They are:

  • History and Philosophy (HP),
  • Biblical Studies (BS),
  • People Skills/Personal Growth (PS),
  • Speaking Skills (SS),
  • Leadership Skills (LS),
  • Writing Skills (WS),
  • Nurture Projects (NP),
  • Outreach Projects (OP).

Due to the many subjects covered in the curriculum (about 65 in all) it was decided to divide the program into four levels. Each level will contain seminars from each of the eight subject areas of the curriculum.

In order for certification to be awarded the participant must complete the required courses in a particular level - these are called Core Requirements. In addition to this, the participant must also complete three other seminars of their choice from among the remaining courses, called Electives.

Each level will be implemented at the conference/mission level on a yearly basis. This means, in three years a participant will have completed all three levels and received three certificates.

We are aware that there are seminars in this course that a participant may have covered before, e.g. Self-Esteem, Discipling New Members, etc. In such cases that course can be omitted and credit will be given.

It is our desire to see women who are called of God for service in these last days empowered to lead. We know that many of you have eagerly awaited this material and are glad that we can finally do our part to meet this need.

For further information, contact us via the Contact Us page on this web site,
or call: 301-680-6427, or write:

Department of Women's Ministries
North American Division of Seventh-day Adventists
12501 Old Columbia Pike
Silver Spring, MD 20904-6600 USA

(Back to top)